Pitch Wars 2017 Wish List!

Here's my Pitch Wars 2017 Wish List!

Hello! I'm so honoured to be a mentor (Adult) for Pitch Wars this year. 

Thinking about choosing me as your mentor? Here's what you should know!

I write women's fiction and the occasional freelance article too. My debut novel, THE FLORENTINE BRIDGE sold in a two-book deal to Harlequin MIRA Australia and was published in January 2017. You can read more about that here or find the book here. My second book will be released in early 2018.

Last year, I led my first week-long writing retreat in Tuscany, Italy, and I can't wait to support a new group of writers for Your Beautiful Writing Life retreat in Daylesford this October. I find so much joy in guiding, supporting and sharing my knowledge with other writers. If you're wanting more of an idea about the kind of mentor I'd be check out the About section on my retreat page.

I’m represented by Cassie Hanjian of Waxman Leavell Literary Agency.

Last year I hosted Your Creative Life, a podcast designed to inform and uplift writers. You can listen to the 60 episodes here.

Favourite books: Check out my Goodreads for an idea of the kind of books I like or have been reading. As far as contemporary novels go, I've more recently loved books like Before I Go by Colleen Oakley and The Choices We Make by Karma Brown. My faves include The Help, The Bronze Horseman, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and The Book Thief.

Connect with me on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram!

What I'd love to see:

Women's Fiction

Contemporary: I'd love to see some upmarket/book club fiction or work that has a literary, yet commercial feel to it. I'd be stoked with anything in the vein of Taylor Jenkins-Reid, Karma Brown, Sally Hepworth, Jojo Moyes. I like a romantic storyline, so love stories are great, as are books with a lot of heart. 

Historical: As far as tastes go, I will read anything by Jennifer Robson, Sue Monk Kidd, Hazel Gaynor. Or for our Aussie writers, think Natasha Lester, Fiona McIntosh, or Kirsty Manning. Contemporary/historical dual timelines are great. I particularly enjoy stories set from the late 1800s onwards but earlier is also fine.

I love books that make me feel something emotionally. I like to be moved by my fiction, so if your book will make me reach for a box of tissues all the better, although I normally shy away from anything too dark. If your book has a strong sense of place and you can sweep me away, then you might win me over.

I'm not your girl for: crime, thriller, fantasy, sci-fi, horror, romantic suspense.

Why should you choose me?

I work hard and I want to see you succeed.

When I commit to something, I'm in 100%, so I will have your back the whole way and beyond. I promise you, I won't give up, even if you reach a point where you feel like you want to.

I really want to work with someone who is willing to pull up their sleeves and give this their all. Someone who isn't afraid of rewrites, killing darlings, and being open to changes. I want to see my mentee succeed but more than that I want my mentee to come away from this contest knowing they've come out of it with a vastly stronger manuscript than they began with. I'll offer kind yet thorough critique of your work.

What to expect

Honesty balanced with support. Brainstorming. Regular communication (via email, or Skype if you need it!) As far as your manuscript development goes, I can offer detailed and big picture feedback where we'll look at plot/character/pacing/dialogue. I can make suggestions using track changes in Word. Of course you'll be free or take or leave any suggestions I make for you, but I'd really love to work with someone who is open to feedback and has a positive attitude.

If you have a manuscript that is in decent shape, and you think we could be a good fit, I'd love the chance to see it!

Good luck!

 

Mister Linky's Magical Widgets -- Thumb-Linky widget will appear right here!
This preview will disappear when the widget is displayed on your site.
If this widget does not appear, click here to display it.